Skip to content
901 North J Street Tacoma

909 North J Street (office)


The Lectionary

The Revised Common Lectionary is a lectionary of readings or pericopes from the Bible for use in Christian worship, making provision for the liturgical year with its pattern of observances of festivals and seasons.

The Revised Common Lectionary was the product of collaboration between the North American Consultation on Common Texts (CCT) and the International English Language Liturgical Consultation (ELLC). After a nine-year trial period, it was publicly released in 1994. The CCT membership includes the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops and the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops as well as many traditional "mainline" or "liturgically-based" American and Canadian Protestant denominations such as Lutheran, North American Anglican (Episcopalian), Presbyterian, and more loosely Methodist and/or Seventh Day Adventist. The CCT thereby represents the majority of American and Canadian Christians and has been widely adopted in Great Britain and in some countries such as Australia. Various Churches, however, have made some changes to the form of the RCL that they use.

As in its predecessors, readings are prescribed for each Sunday: a passage typically from the Old Testament (including those books sometimes referred to as the Apocrypha), or the Acts of the Apostles; a passage from one of the Psalms; another from either the Epistles or the Book of Revelation; and finally a passage from one of the four Gospels. Also like its predecessors, it runs in three-year cycles; the gospel readings in the first year (Year A) are taken from the Gospel of Matthew, those in the second year (or Year B) from the Gospel of Mark, and in the third year (or Year C) come from the Gospel of Luke. Portions of the Gospel of John are read throughout Eastertide, and are also used for other liturgical seasons including Advent, Christmastide, and Lent where appropriate.

Year A begins on the first Sunday of Advent in 2010, 2013, 2016, 2019, etc.

Year B begins on the first Sunday of Advent in 2011, 2014, 2017, 2020, etc.

Year C begins on the first Sunday of Advent in 2009, 2012, 2015, 2018, etc.


January 2020 Lectionary Readings
January 5: Jeremiah 31:7-14; Psalm 147; John 1:10-18
January 12: Isaiah 42:1-9; Psalm 29: Matthew 3:13-17

January 19: Isaiah 49:1-7; Psalm 40; John 1:29-42
January 26: Isaiah 9:1-4; Psalm 27; Matthew 4:12-23

Other observances: Jewish, Islamic and Orthodox